Is the light domain good 5e?

Is the light domain good 5e?

The Light Domain is a great choice for generalist clerics. Their Domain Spells and other class features support a cleric that wants to deal damage in combat, but also protect allies. Notably, your Domain Spells feature grants you a number of combat spells that would normally be unavailable to clerics: Burning hands.

Does the light Cantrip work in magical darkness?

Light from spells or any magic item can illuminate the area of darkness, but a magic item or the light cantrip will not dispel the Darkness (permanently). When casting Darkness it does instantly dispel any spells in its area which are providing magic light if that spell is below 2nd level.

How do you counter a dark spell?

If you want a way to dispel Darkness, here’s a couple:

  1. Dispel Magic.
  2. Daylight (“If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of darkness created by a spell of 3rd level or lower, the spell that created the darkness is dispelled.”)

Does dawn dispel magical darkness?

Radiance of the Dawn is a cleric feature that dispels magical darkness in a range. The darkness spell consists of magical darkness spreading from a point.

Does darkness go through walls?

The darkness is blocked by wall just like a light.

Can the caster see through darkness 5e?

Unless the caster can otherwise see in magical darkness, they cannot see inside of the darkness spell area. (Adding One With Shadows at 5th level makes this combination even more effective, but is not necessary in order to see inside the darkness spell.)

Can I cast darkness on myself?

Darkness can be used to protect yourself or your friends from opportunity attacks, counterspell and most targeted spells and abilities. Since it can be cast on an object, you can relocate it or temporarily turn it off easily.

Is the caster affected by darkness?

The darkness spell doesn’t grant the caster the ability to see through it. The Dungeons & Dragons rules are pretty good about such things – if it did give such an ability, it would state so within the text of the spell.