What do the 4 card suits represent?

What do the 4 card suits represent?

The four suits in playing cards, clubs, diamonds, hearts, and spades, collectively represent the four elements (wind, fire, water, and earth), the seasons, and cardinal directions. They represent the struggle of opposing forces for victory in life. The thirteen cards in each suit represent the thirteen lunar months.

What are the 4 types of playing cards?

It includes thirteen ranks in each of the four French suits: clubs (♣), diamonds (♦), hearts (♥) and spades (♠), with reversible "court" or face cards.

What are playing card symbols called?

In the United States in particular, the symbols on a standard deck of English cards are called pips, and modern decks currently display the four suits of hearts and diamonds in red, and clubs and spades in black.

Do Playing cards have meanings?

According to one of the versions, the invention of playing cards was by the ancient Egyptian god Dhouti. Other medieval mystics believed that the cards symbolize the four main aspects of human nature. Hearts mean love, Clubs are the desire for knowledge, Diamonds stand for a passion for money, and Spades warn of death.