Can you counter a spell twice?

Can you counter a spell twice?

You cannot counter the same spell more than once. 701.5a To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn’t resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.

Can you counter a spell already in play?

you can not cancel it, you can only cancel a spell on the stack (as it is the only place they exist), they are putting it from their hand right into play so it can’t be countered.

Who gets priority after a spell resolves?

Yes, the active Player receives priority after a spell or ability resolves, and the next phase does not occur until both players pass priority when the stack is empty. 116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves. 500.2.

Can you counter a triggered ability?

A triggered mana ability doesn’t go on the stack, so it can’t be targeted, countered, or otherwise responded to. Rather, it resolves immediately after the mana ability that triggered it, without waiting for priority.

Can you deflecting swat a triggered ability?

No, this will not work. The triggered ability of Lich’s Mastery does not have a target, and Deflecting Swat can only change the targets of spells and abilities.

Is a triggered ability a spell?

Any text on an instant or sorcery spell is a spell ability unless it’s an activated ability, a triggered ability, or a static ability that fits the criteria described in rule 112.6. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect.

Can you hold priority after a spell resolves?

They’re dealt with before a player would receive priority. See rule 117.5. 117.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving.

Can you hold priority on someone else’s turn?

Note that in order for any spell or ability to resolve, both players must pass priority without taking any other actions. That explicit statement is what most players call “holding priority”.

Can morph counter split second?

If a spell with split second is on the stack, you can still respond by turning this creature face up and targeting that spell with the trigger. This is because split second only stops players from casting spells or activating abilities, while turning a creature face up is a special action.

Can split second spells be copied?

Yes, you can cast only one copy of Extirpate with Chandra, Pyromaster. Casting more than one spell simultaneously is impossible, since casting a spell is a multistep process (C.R. 601.2; C.R. 608.2f speaks of “following the steps in rules 601.2a-i”), so the spells are cast one at a time.

Can Krosan grip be countered?

For instance, Krosan Grip has split second, but with a successful Counterbalance flip, can be countered.

Can’t be countered creatures?

Creature spells you control can’t be countered. Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell from your hand, if Taigam, Ojutai Master attacked this turn, that spell gains rebound. (Exile the spell as it resolves. At the beginning of your next upkeep, you may cast that card from exile without paying its mana cost.)

Can I morph at instant speed?

Yes and Yes. Morph is a special ability that can be activated at “instant” speed.

Can you morph in response?

You cannot respond to morph, but you can respond to abilities that trigger whenever a creature is turned face-up. They are two separate events. Using real cards as examples… Creatures with morph triggered abilities do not combo with Astral Slide or cards like Zombify.

Does morph count as a spell?

Morph is only an option if you’re casting the spell. If you’re putting it on the battlefield, you cannot put it onto the battlefield face-down. Morph is an alternate cost, so you cannot combine it with other alternate costs.

Does morph summoning sickness?

Playing creatures face down and turning them face up (commonly called morphing/unmorphing) has no effect on them having summoning sickness. Unless they have haste, they have summoning sickness until they’ve been in play since the beginning of your most recent turn, whether they’ve been turned face up or not.

Can Strionic resonator copy morph?

No, because facedown it has no abilities (unless given to it from something else). how would that work exactly? Well, with Strionic Resonator you aren’t copying an ability on the facedown creature, you’re copying the trigger object that was created on the stack.

Can Strionic resonator copy ETB?

So the End result, two triggers being on the Stack is the Same, though they Funciton Differently. Also, Strionic Resonator can copy ANY Triggered ability, ot just Enter the Battlefield Triggers. 611.1 A continuous effect [..] affects [..] the rules of the game, for a fixed or indefinite period.

Does Strionic resonator work on Planeswalkers?

No, putting counters on a planeswalker as it comes in doesn’t use the stack and isn’t a triggered ability (if it was the planeswalker would die due to having no loyalty counters).