How are wildcards determined in MLB?

How are wildcards determined in MLB?

The home team for the Wild Card Game is the team with the better regular-season winning percentage; if the two teams have identical winning percentages, MLB tie-breaking procedures are used to determine the home team, with no additional games being played.

How are MLB playoffs determined?

Ten teams qualify for the playoffs each year five from each of the two leagues that make up MLB, the American League and the National League. The six teams that win each of the divisions AL East, AL Central, AL West, NL East, NL Central and NL West qualify automatically for the playoffs.

How many games do the wild card teams play in baseball?

The Major League Baseball Wild Card Game is a one-game, winner take all, postseason event that was added to the Major League Baseball in 2012. Two wild card teams from the American League and two wild card teams from the National League play each other in a single-game playoff at the end of the regular season.