How many lands should I play in a Commander deck?
How many lands should I play in a Commander deck?
42 lands
Are companion cards Legal in Commander?
Each Commander deck may include a chosen companion. It starts outside the game and doesn’t count as one of your 100 cards. All the other companion cards [except for Lutri] will be legal, and subject to color identity and singleton rules. If a card is your companion, it is effectively a 101st card.
Can you use a God as a commander?
Yes, Theros gods can be commanders. They are Legendary Creatures and will be available as commanders after the Theros prerelease. And yes, Daxos’s ability can be used to cast cards outside of your commander’s colors.
Can a commander be returned to hand?
Previously a Commander acted as normal if returned to its owner’s hand or placed into his or her library (this act was known as tucking the Commander). Now, if a Commander would be returned to its owner’s library or hand it can be moved to the Command Zone instead as a replacement effect.
Does a commander die if it goes to the command zone?
Functionally, this means that instead of replacing the trip to the graveyard or exile with a trip to the command zone, our commanders will die or get exiled, go very, very briefly to the appropriate zone, and then go to the command zone from there.
Can I keep my commander in the graveyard?
If a Commander would be put into a graveyard or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the command zone instead. This is a replacement effect; the creature never goes to the graveyard and will not trigger such abilities.
Can you sacrifice your commander?
A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.”
Does exile count as death?
If the creature goes to the graveyard and then moves to exile, then it counts as dying. However, if it goes to exile instead of the graveyard, then it does not count as dying. If a creature dealt damage this way would die this turn, exile it instead. If an event is replaced, it never happens.